What I’ve Learned About Adult Learning

As my first English course for adult learners (post-CELTA) came to an end, I want to take a moment to jot down my thoughts and share some of the most valuable lessons I learnt about Adult Learning over the years of teaching.

I came across these principles during my preparation for SHRM in 2022 and then encountered them once again during my CELTA training earlier this year. They resonated deeply with me and have played an important role in shaping my approach as a teacher.

🔹 Principle 1: Focus on the real world (SHRM) / Teach with a communicative purpose (CELTA)
When I began teaching English to adults after college, I realized that traditional teaching methods weren’t effective for them. Adults are different from children; they have responsibilities, limited time, and need crystal clear reasons to learn. I learned this the hard way since it was not covered in my formal education which is geared towards pedagogy rather than andragogy. Now, when I teach adult learners, I make sure to focus on relevance, meaningfulness, and conciseness. I ensure they understand why they need to learn specific information, leading to more engaged and motivated learners.

🔹 Principle 2: Learners wish to be resources (SHRM) / Adopt a learner-centered approach (CELTA)
Adult learners don’t want to be passive recipients of information; they want to be active contributors. In my classroom, I encourage open discussions, peer learning, and group work to facilitate knowledge sharing and mutual respect. This way my role has now been shifted from a traditional teacher to a facilitator, allowing learners to take ownership of their learning journey. This approach not only keeps them engaged but also enhances retention as they actively participate in the learning process.

🔹 Principle 3: Allow debate and challenge (SHRM) / Ask, don’t tell (CELTA)
Adult learners are entirely capable of independent thinking, so I encourage them to question and challenge ideas. Instead of imposing my opinions, I try to provide reasoned justifications for my recommendations and welcome counterarguments. This approach fosters a dynamic learning environment where everyone, including myself, gains new insights. It may be intimidating, but it leads to a more meaningful learning experience for both learners and teachers alike.

While some may find these principles obvious, they were significant revelations for me. I truly hope that by documenting these lessons, I will be able to cement my understanding and continually improve as a teacher.

There’s still so much more to learn. I’m both overwhelmed and excited at the same time.

P/S: As you can see, I’m playing with this new AI image-generating tool. You may want to try it out as well! 😉 https://designer.microsoft.com/

4 responses to “What I’ve Learned About Adult Learning”

  1. zachpinson Avatar

    Another great post, Ha! It looks like you’ve really internalized a lot of the key principles from both of your learning experiences–and expressed them very meaningfully, relevantly and concisely 🙂

    1. truonghaiha Avatar

      I wish! There are still moments when I slack off and stray away from these principles. But then I see boredom and disengagement in learners almost immediately and remind myself to stay on track! It’s truly amazing to witness how powerful such simple rules can be, and how hard it is to implement them consistently. Thank you for always cheering me on Zach! Thanks to you I feel like I’m not just “talking” to an infinite void of nothingness on the Internet. Thanks to you I feel like I’m being heard ❤

  2. lateautumnsunset Avatar

    Thank you sister. Please let me call you that friendly title. I think I have to reread what you have written a couple of times to get the idea. Not cause it’s not clear, but it’s new (somehow different from teaching young adults, my context). Anyway, some vivid examples of learning activities might demonstrate the points better. Just my 2 cents.

    1. truonghaiha Avatar

      Ah, I wrote this as a self-reflection. Didn’t realize it would cause confusion to the reader. I’m sorry for that 😀 Perhaps I was a little TOO concise here after all. Have a great day em ^^

Leave a comment

I’m Ha!

Welcome to my cozy corner on the internet, dedicated to all things learning, teaching, soul-searching and everything in between.

Let’s connect