It’s that time of the year again

When you realize there’s only 1 day left and you haven’t really done ANY of the new year resolutions that you wrote 364 days ago. Who am I kidding. I can’t even find that damn piece of paper anywhere in my less than 9m2 room. Oh well… that leaves me with no other option rather than relying on the lazy wretch called my brain LOL.

So, here are the top 10 highlights of my 2016. You know, things that I am proud of, happy about or simply do not want to forget.

1, Got my very first tattoos. It wasn’t as painful as I thought it would be, although I might not be fully qualified to make such a comment given the “remarkable” size of my tattoo LOL. 12 months has passed and I don’t regret it one bit. Just found it somewhat amusing when mom saw it and asked “Aren’t you afraid of getting HIV?”

2, Gathered enough confidence to ask for a promotion. The pay was not significantly higher anyway. But hey, at least I (to a certain level) overcame my insecurities and self-doubt 🙂

3, Travelled to the Philippines and Korea with my little sister. So that makes it 4 countries that my sister and I have visited together.  This year I realized during our trips that she’s become much stronger, both phyically and emotionally, than me. Not sure if I should be happy or sad about that LOL

4, Financed my sister’s 2-month trip to India. Yea, another one about my sister. It must be fate, isn’t it? Out of all these countries in the world, she had to choose INDIA to spend her last summer of college. And she survived!

5, Finally became motivated enough to complete my application for 2 scholarships. After 5 freaking years of pondering and procastinating. And I failed both. Big time. While it is unlikely that I will ever become motivated enough to try again, I think I learnt something in the process and have a better idea of what I want and what I need now.

6, Actually finding myself somewhat sexy and graceful. Thanks to my sweetest belly-dancing teacher/ friend – Phuong Anh. I think I’m probably the only one who feels this way though LOL

7, Stopped dreading the kitchen. Yep. I’m comfortable wearing the apron and stirring the pots now. Still occasionally mess up ginger with tamarine, salt with sugar though.


8, Attemped making my voice heard and started this blog. I guess that’s self-explantory 🙂


9, Have the best house mates I can ever wish for. After years of struggling to co-exist with other human-beings, I am finally 100% happy and contented with my current “most awesomest” house-mates now.  To do them justice, I will probably need to write a whole essay. No, maybe a thesis paper.


10, Letting my family know about him. This is probably my biggest success this year. I am so thankful of my sister’s support, my dad’s open-mindedness and my mom’s efforts to understand. They are MY family after all, right? 🙂


— Bring it on 2017!

Leave a Reply

